3 lasersThe Club has an enthusiastic sub group of members who sail RC Lasers, a quarter size model of the Olympic class Laser dinghy.  Like the dinghy it is a strictly controlled one-design class.

While the group sails to the ISAF racing rules of sailing, we do honour the club code of being friendly first and competitive second.

Each year an RC Laser Series of ten rounds is held at the club, usually from February to November. This series helps prepare sailors for State and National title events, which the Club stands ready to host.

The RC Laser offers club members who usually sail ML45's or other classes, the opportunity to compete in a slightly more serious way if they wish.

The Club has a fleet of over 20 RC Lasers and there is usually a group of 6 - 10 sailors at the club each Wednesday. Formal racing is generally held on one Sunday afternoon of each month as part of the RC Laser Series, and there is also a program of 4-5 handicap races held throughout the year, where upto 20 boats appear. RC Lasers also sail on the combined classes sailing days, which are held on the first barbecue Saturday of each month. Look out for a winter series at the Port River Sailing Club and events at Hart's Mill at Port Adelaide.

If you would like to find out more about RC Lasers please contact Adrian Heard on 0427 833 324 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

RC Laser Results 2020

 Results yet to be published

Paired Racing 2020

 Results yet to be published

Saturday Sailing

 

RC Laser sailors are able to join ML45 sailors for cruising on the third Saturday of each month. They will start after the last of the ML45s and will follow the same cruising course.

RO Roster

Stewart will take on the RO role for the 2020 season and appointments made on a rotational basis for any events he is unable to attend.

 

RC LASER Sailing Program 2020

Please note that this program is subject to change without notice

  The Sceduled Program

July

Sunday 12th July 12.30pm Mawson Lakes – Club Championship Round 5

Saturday 18th July 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Sunday 26th July 12.30pm Mawson Lakes – Club Championship Round 6

 

August

Saturday 1st August 10am Mawson Lakes – AGM & Club sailing

Sunday 2nd August 12.30pm Mawson Lakes - Club Championship Round 7

Saturday 8th August 11am Port River – Port Line Cup Regatta

Sunday 9th August 11am Port River – Port Line Cup Regatta

Saturday 15th – Sunday 16th August 1pm Mawson Lakes – South Australian RC Laser State Titles

Wednesday 29th August 1pm Mawson Lakes – Handicap Racing

 

September

Saturday 5th September 12pm Mawson Lakes - Club sailing

Sunday 13th September 1pm Dotterel Drive, West Lakes - Club Championship Round 8

Saturday 19th September Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Victorian State RC Laser Titles

Saturday 19th September 12pm Mawson Lakes - ML45 and Laser cruising

 

October – SUMMER SEASON

Saturday 3rd – Monday 5th October – Emerald Lakes, Gold Coast, Queensland, National RC Laser Titles

Saturday 3rd October 12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Saturday 17th October 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Port River Twilight Series dates TBA

 

November

Saturday 7th November 12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Friday 13th November – MLMYC Presentation Night

Saturday 14th November 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Port River Twilight Series dates TBA

 

December

Saturday 5th December 12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Saturday 19th December 12pm Mawson Lakes - ML45 and Laser cruising

Port River Twilight Series dates TBA